Monday, August 30, 2010

Teen Scene at the Pearl Public Library

Need a break from homework? Come to the Pearl Public Library this Monday (August 30th) at 5:00 pm for Teen Scene. This month we are featuring games from the hit TV show Minute to Win It! We will have snacks and prizes. This program runs monthly on the last Monday of the month. Check us out next month for our Scrappin' Fashion program. Put together a cool outfit with only scraps, duck tape, and other odd materials!

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Book Review

All Unquiet Things centers around the murder of teen heiress Carly Ribelli, who was found shot to death a mile from her house in a wealthy Northern California suburb. Carly’s uncle, a dissolute alcoholic, was convicted of the crime, but a year later his daughter still doesn’t believe her father is guilty. Determined to prove his innocence, Audrey Ribelli contacts Carly’s ex-boyfriend, Neily Monroe, the boy who found Carly’s body. She is convinced that he knows more than he thinks about the events that led up to Carly’s death. Despite Neily’s initial reluctance, he and Audrey begin their investigation at the posh private school they attend, identifying prime suspects from among their spoiled classmates and digging up secrets about Carly’s past to get to the truth behind her murder--

This book is awesome! If you like mystery and crime then this is the book for you. It reads like a basic "whodunit" novel but the characters are well-developed. Readers will relate to the feelings Neily has for losing his one true love. Each page reveals new information about the crime, and readers get to see the relationship between Neily and Audrey develop. This is the first novel by this author, and it is spectacular!

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Readalikes for "Mockingjay"

The Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA), a division of the American Library Association (ALA) on August 12, released a list of titles that may interest those waiting for the last of the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins. Mockingjay is due to be released on August 24 and many are patiently waiting! These readalikes were chosen for their similarity to the popular trilogy and may help teens find new authors for their leisure reading.

These can be found in CMRLS libraries. If they aren't on your libraries' shelves, log onto Rosie's Web, the online catalog, with your barcoded library card and make your request.  Need help? Just ask library staff to make the request. Look for:
  • Fullmetal Alchemist, Vol. 1 - by Hiromu Arakawa
  • Jennifer Government - by Max Barry
  • The Compound - by S. A. Bodeen
  • Fortunes of Indigo Skye - by Deb Caletti
  • The White Mountains (The Tripods #1) - by John Christopher
  • The Maze Runner - by James Dashner
  • The Diamond of Darkhold - by Jeanne Duprau
  • Gone - by Michael Grant
  • Epic - by Conor Kostick
  • Tomorrow, When the War Began - by John Marsden
  • Airborn - by Kenneth Oppel
  • How I Live Now - by Meg Rosoff
  • Bones of Faerie - by Janni Simner
  • Leviathan - by Scott Westerfield

Monday, August 16, 2010

Join P-YAC!

Pearl Youth Advisory Committee
Want to be a part of group that serves the community of Pearl? Join the Pearl Youth Advisory Committee (P-YAC). The Pearl Public Library is looking for teens between the ages of 13 and 18 who are responsible, goal-oriented, and full of ideas. P-YAC members will meet monthly to discuss teen programming ideas, volunteering activities, and will help in selecting materials for the Young Adult area of the library. Being a part of a committee such as P-YAC looks great on a college application or even a resume! By joing P-YAC, you will make new friends and help the Pearl Public Library serve its teens. The next meeting is Tuesday, September 9th @ 4:30 pm. Bring yourself and bring a friend!

Monday, August 9, 2010

Read It Before You See It!

Check out these YA books that have recently been made into movies!

Flipped by Wendelin Van Draanen

When second-graders Bryce and Juli first meet, Juli knows it’s love. But Bryce isn’t so sure. Girl-phobic and easily embarrassed, young Bryce does everything he can to keep his outspoken wannabe girlfriend at arm’s length… for the next six years, which isn’t easy since they go to the same school and live across the street from each other. But if Juli finally looks away, will it be Bryce’s turn to be dazzled? Flipped takes Bryce and Juli from grade school to junior high, through triumph and disaster, family drama and first love, as they make the discoveries that will define who they are --- and who they are to each other.
Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Based on the comic by Bryan Lee O'Malley)

Meet charming and jobless Scott Pilgrim. A bass guitarist for the garage band Sex Bob-omb, the 22-year-old has just met the girl of his dreams…literally. The only catch to winning Ramona Flowers? Her seven evil exes are coming to kill him. Genre-smashing filmmaker Edgar Wright tells the amazing story of one romantic slacker’s quest to power up with love in Scott Pilgrim vs. the World.

Monday, August 2, 2010

The Hunger Games: A Mockingjay Release Party

The librarians here at the Pearl Public Library are anxiously awaiting the release of the third book in the Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins, and we know many of you are too. So, we have decided to celebrate the release of Mockingjay with a party! Join us for a release party for Mockingjay on Tuesday, August 24th at 5:00 pm. We will have games, refreshments, and prizes. You could be the winner of a brand new copy of Mockingjay!